2021

We are back on daylight saving time. It is warm for work-outs. With the warming, our  muscles are looser so we have transitioned to faster paced, shorter, intervals.  Our transitions on alternate Mondays were one lap decreases in distance until the total goes from three to two miles. Alternate Wednesdays, we similarly stepped down to three miles from four. Since it is warm, the intervals are faster paced and recoveries are longer.

The workouts are intended for about 90th percentile runners. They should be modified to fit individual abilities by either changing the number of intervals or their lengths. Recovery periods should last until the legs are no longer tired. If recovery is no longer possible, end your workout.

Access to the Lincoln Hi track is available now through the main turnstile on Olive Avenue. If it is locked, you can climb over the 8′ tall turnstile. If you are afraid of heights, you can try some nearby gates or enter the on campus parking area from the opposite side of the campus at the intersection of Wabash Ave and Garden Drive

The suggested workouts are:
09/15/21 Wed  – 1,200; 800; 2×400; 800; 1,200 = 3 miles
09/13/21 Mon – 2x(400; 4×200; 400)  = 2 miles

Completed
09/08/21 Wed  – 400; 600; 800; 1,200; 800; 600; 400 = 3 mi; mid 70’s; 1 ran
09/06/21 Mon – Labor Day – 2x(400; 800; 400)  = 2 mi; mid 70’s; 1 ran
09/01/21 Wed  – 6×800 = 3 mi; mid 70’s; 1 ran
08/30/21 Mon – 8×400  = 2 mi; mid 70’s; 1 ran
08/25/21 Wed  – 2x(1,600; 800) = 3 mi; mid 70’s; 1 ran
08/23/21 Mon – 800;  400; 4×200; 400; 800  = 2 mi; hi 70’s; 2 ran
08/18/21 Wed  – 2×800; 5x(400; jog 150); 600 = 3 mi; mid 70’s; 2 ran
08/16/21 Mon – 200; 5x(400; 200) = 2 mi; hi 70’s; 2 ran
08/11/21 Wed   – 4×1,200 = 3 mi; hi 70’s; 2 ran
08/09/21 Mon – 200; 400; 600; 800; 600; 400; 200 = 2 mi; hi 70’s; 2 ran
08/04/21 Wed  – 2x(1,600; 800) = 3 mi; hi 70’s; 2 ran
08/02/21 Mon –  800; 4x(400; 200) = 2 mi; hi 70’s; 3 ran
07/28/21 Wed  – 4x(800; 400) = 3 mi; hi 70’s; 2 ran
07/26/21 Mon –  800; 4x(400; 200) = 2 mi; hi 70’s; 3 ran
07/21/21 Wed  – 6×800 = 3 mi; 80’s; 1 ran
07/19/21 Mon –  8×400 = 2 mi; 80’s; 3 ran
07/14/21 Wed  – 400; 800; 2×1,200; 800; 400 = 3 mi; hi 80’s, 2 ran
07/12/21 Mon –  200; 400; 600; 800; 600; 400; 200 = 2 mi; hi 80’s; 5 ran
07/07/21 Wed  – 4×1,200 = 3 mi; lo 80’s; 3 ran
07/05/21 Mon  – Independence Day – 800; 3x(400; jog 150); 800 = 2 mi; lo 80’s; 3 ran
06/30/21 Wed  –  1,200; 800; 2×400; 800; 1,200 = 3 mi; lo 80’s; 2 ran
06/28/21 Mon –  2x(400; 800; 400) = 2 mi; lo 80’s; 2 ran
06/23/21 Wed  – 6×800 = 3 mi; lo 80’s; 2 ran
06/21/21 Mon –   2x(400; 800; 400) = 2 mi; lo 80’s; 4 ran
06/16/21 Wed –
06/14/21 Mon –
06/09/21 Wed  – track closed – girls’ lacrosse game
06/07/21 Mon –  800; 3x(400; jog 150); 800 = 2 mi; lo 80’s; 1 ran
06/02/21 Wed  – graduation – track unavailable
05/31/21 Mon –  9×400 = 2-1/4 mi; mid 70’s; 2 ran
05/26/21 Wed –         =3-1/4 mi; lo 70’s; 2 ran
05/24/21 Mon –  soccer game – track unavailable
05/19/21 Wed  –  2x(1,600; 400); 16,000 = 3-1/4 miles; lo 70’s; 2 ran
05/17/21 Mon –  3x(800; 400) = 2-1/4 mi; lo 70’s; 4 ran
05/12/21 Wed  –  1,600; 1,200; 800; 400; 16,000 = 3-1/2 mi; hi 70’s; 2 ran
05/10/21 Mon –  2×800; 3x(400; jog 150); 800 = 2-1/2 mi; mid 70’s; 4 ran
05/05/21 Wed  –  2x(1,200; 800; 400); 1,200 = 3-1/2 mi; mid 70’s; 3 ran
05/03/21 Mon –  800; 2×400; 800; 2×400; 800 = 2-1/2 mi; hi 70’s; 3 ran
04/28/21 Wed  –   800; 1,600; 1,200; 1,600; 800 = 3-3/4 mi; lo 70’s; 2 ran
04/26/21 Mon –    soccer game – track unavailable
04/21/21 Wed  –   800; 1,600; 1,200; 1,600; 800 = 3-3/4 mi; hi 60′ 2 ran
04/19/21 Mon –   800; 3×400; 800; 2×400; 800 = 2-3/4 mi; hi 60’s;2 ran
04/06/21 Wed  –  4×1,600 = 4 mi; lo 70’s; 1 ran
04/05/21 Mon –  400; 800; 400; 1,200; 400; 800; 400 = 2-3/4 mi; lo 70’s; 2 ran
03/31/21 Wed  – 4x(1,200; 400) = 4 mi; lo 70’s; 2 ran
03/29/21 Mon –   6×800; 3x(400; jog 150) = 3 mi; lo 70’s; 4 ran
03/24/21 Wed  –  1,600; 2x(800; 1,600) = 4 mi; hi 60’s; 2 ran
03/22/21 Mon –   800; 4x(400; jog 150); 800; 3x(400; jog 150) = 3 mi; mid 60’s; 4 ran
03/17/21 Wed  –   1,600; 2x(800; 1,600) = 4 mi; mid 50’s rain threat; 1 ran
03/15/21 Mon –   400; 800; 2×1,200; 800; 400 = 3 mi; hi 50’s; 3 ran
03/10/21 Wed  –   1,600; 2x(800; 1,600) = 4 mi; rain; 0 ran
03/08/21 Mon –   400; 600; 800; 1,200; 800; 600; 400 = 3 mi; hi 50’s; three ran
03/03/21 Wed  –  800; 1,200; 1,600; 1,200; 1,600 = 4 mi; hi 50’s; two ran
03/01/21 Mon –   4x(800; 400) = 3 mi; lo 60’s; 4 ran
02/24/21 Wed  –  2x(800; 1,600; 800) = 4 mi; lo 60’s; 3 ran
02/22/21 Mon –   800; 4x(400; jog 150); 2×800 = 3 mi; lo 60’s; 4 ran
02/17/21 Wed  –   1,600; 1,200; 800; 2×400; 800; 1,200 = 4 mi; mid 50’s; 3 ran
02/15/21 Mon –    6×800 = 3 mi; lo 50’s; 3 ran
02/10/21 Wed  –   4x(1,200; 400) = 4 mi; mid 50’s; 3 ran
02/08/21 Mon –    2x(800; 200; 600); 800 = 3 mi; lo 50’s; 4 ran
02/02/21 Wed  –   4×1,600 = 4 m; lo 50’s; 3 ran
01/31/21 Mon –    400; 600; 400; 800; 400; 800; 400; 600; 400 = 3 mi; mid 40’s; 4 ran
01/27/21 Wed  –   rain
01/25/21 Mon –    2x(400; 600; 800; 600) = 3 mi; hi 40’s; 3 ran
01/20/21 Wed  –   2x(1,600; 1,200; 400) = 4 mi; mid 60’s; 3 ran
01/18/21 Mon –    4x(400; 800)  = 3 mi; mid 60’s; 2 ran
01/13/21 Wed  –   800; 3x(1,200;400); 800= 4 mi; mid 60’s; 2 ran
01/11/21 Mon –    2×800; 4x(400; jog 150); 2×800  = 3 mi; mid 60’s; 4 ran
01/06/21 Wed  –   1,600; 2x(800; 1,600) = 4 mi; lo 60’s; 2 ran
01/04/21 Mon –    4×1,200 = 3 mi; hi 50’s; 4 ran
12/30/20 Wed  –  800; 600; 800; 1,200; 800; 600; 800 = 4 mi; lo 50’s; 2 ran
12/28/20 Mon –   600; 800; 1,200; 800; 600 = 3 mi; lo 50’s; 4 ran
12/22/20 Wed  –  2×800; 2×1,600; 1,200 = 3-3/4 mi; mid 50’s; 2 ran
12/21/20 Mon –    6×800 = 3 mi; hi 50’s; 4 ran
12/16/20 Wed  –  800; 1,200; 1,600; 1,200; 800; 400 = 3-3/4 mi[ hi 50’s; 2 ran
12/14/20 Mon –   800; (7×400); 800 = 2-3/4 mi; hi 50’s; 3 ran
12/09/20 Wed  –  3×1,600; 800 = 3 1/2 mi; lo 60’s; 3 ran
12/07/20 Mon –   400; 800; 400; 1,200; 400; 800; 400 = 2-3/4 mi; hi 50’s; 4 ran
12/02/20 Wed  –  2x(800; 1,200; 800) = 3 1/2 mi; hi 50’s; 3 ran